Reviews for Dental Express San Diego

Patient Reviews

At Dental Express, when it comes to selecting the best dentist for you or your family, we know the decision is extremely important. That is why we want to make it easier for you by compiling all of our online reviews in one spot. The reviews can help you choose and provide valuable insight about our dentists and teams. At each of our locations in Santee, Downtown San Diego, Clairemont, and Point Loma, we want to provide the best care to our patients. We encourage you to read through the patient reviews to learn more about our Dental Express locations in San Diego, CA.

Filter31 Reviews  
4.0
DAPI
Review from G.O.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 24, 2018

Filling JUST fell out!!! Going back tomorrow to get it fixed. I gave 5 stars originally :(...still nicer than western dental. Clean office nice staff... More

4.0
DAPI
Review from J.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 24, 2018

Went there for the first time to have a tooth looked at that was feeling strange and I absolutely loved it. Professional, warm and welcoming. Usually I don't like dentists but they are so friendly and the atmosphere is amazing. The only thing that kept me from giving them a 5 star rating was that they were having trouble with their equipment and I ended up almost getting a shower with the water but it wasn't a big deal. I know that kind of thing is random chance. But I still love them and will definitely go back More

4.0
DAPI
Review from D.P.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 24, 2018

Very kind and professional.. I really appreciated the patience of all staff.. thanks More

4.0
DAPI
Review from J.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 24, 2018

Kind staff members. Dr. has down to earth advice and they take Denti-Cal for some things but most of the work I need, root canals, crowns, etc is not covered and is too expensive. I'll go back for fillings and cleanings though. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from M.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 24, 2018

Very friendly , were able to get me in rt away More

4.0
DAPI
Review from A.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 24, 2018

Very friendly staff. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from J.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 24, 2018

Excellent dentist office. Accepts DentiCal and even took me for an emergency same day appt! DDS George is patient, answered all my questions thoroughly and didnt try to "up sell" me on any services that arent necessary. The hygienist was also thorough, cleaned my teeth using a pick, water, floss and polished with a flouride treatment. The insurance coordinator also answered all my questions in a most friendly way making me feel confident about how to proceed. Thank you Dental Express Clairemont for making my pearly whites feel all better! More

4.0
DAPI
Review from E.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 15, 2018

My Mom is 84 years old, very anxious about​ going to a dentist. Dr. Weinstein is a young and charming, ​professional dentist, he examined my mother and explained​ to us the dental plan. Theresa Dr. Weinstein assistant is very friendly. I ask if it​ is possible if my mom can have a ​dental cleaning. Ed hygienist is very accommodating​ and gentle. Dental Office is very clean and up to date with technology. Very Good experience. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from C.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  May 20, 2018

Def a nice dental office which was refreshing compared to the last office I visited... The man up front was super friendly and helpful, HOWEVER when I visited there it was a dental emergency and I was in a lot of pain... So my issue is this... I need a root canal on a tooth in the back of my mouth, the tooth is pretty much gone already. The young lady dentist came in and knowing Im on state insurance, instead of recommending the extraction of the tooth which is covered... 100% by my ins. And would also take me out of pain. What does she do? Pretends to be concerned with saving my non existent tooth and the crown requires a 900$ co pay... And no thank you on the ibuprofen, been eating enough of those lately... So all in all its a very nice dental office and the guy up front was straight forward with me so after waiting in pain I got antibiotics and an appt to extract... Some dentists need to understand the pain and the overall goal for the patient. Got a free t shirt and loved the train! More

4.0
DAPI
Review from S.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 16, 2018

I had to wait an hour after my cleaning to see the doctor. He took 30 seconds to look at my teeth and tell me what I needed done then waited another hour to see Brian the billing person. Total of 2 1/2 hours. Also my husband went here for a tooth extraction and was left numbed for over and hour and a half before doc came in. Dr Marty does great work and wants the best for the patient. The waiting is just a little much. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from M.D.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Apr 27, 2018

Friendly, professional. 4* because Dental hygienist was hesitant. If not comfortable could have asked for assistance from the dentist. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from T.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 09, 2018

The dental office was proactive with the issue with my insurance. They gave several calls. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from J.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 09, 2018

Very happy with this office. I have DentiCal insurance and was in desperate need of dental work to address a throbbing tooth. I was able to come in 90 mins after my initial call as an emergency visit! Another DentiCal - accepting DDS, Dr. Au of La Mesa, required me to wait over 3 weeks (and in pain) for his 1st available. Because that dentist did not work out, I was left still in pain and therefore so relieved to be seen at Dental Express the same day. Dental Express DDS George was very patient , listened to my symptoms and addressed them all. The hygienist cleaned my teeth excellently with a pick, flossed AND polished them while also giving good tips on how to care for my problem teeth. The insurance coordinator made sure to answer all my questions to make my treatments most affordable. I wish they had a lead thyroid cover for their XRay machines and that each radiation exposure yielded a usable image. Aside from this, I am very, very happy with the care I received there. I am not easily impressed, so 4 stars is dang near perfect coming from me.  Thank you Dental Express Clairemont! More

4.0
DAPI
Review from M.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 15, 2017

Everyone here was so welcoming! I haven't seen a dentist for awhile because of my past experience and my fear....but these guys....Dr. Mike & Maurice the hygenist...not to mention the front desk staff and Aubrey...plus the guy that was shadowing her....smiles and warmth in every part of this place. Thank you for making my experience a good one! No wonder my husband and kids rave about this place....now I can say sitting in their chair...it was a good thing! More

4.0
DAPI
Review from D.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 24, 2017

Dental Express is personal and friendly while being efficient. Waits have never been long, and I've never gotten the sense of being "pushed through and processed". Staff and dentists have been willing to unhurriedly discuss what needed discussing. The only reason I don't give five stars is that I have not seen them resolving a crisis and coming out with flying colors. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from J.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 24, 2017

Dr. Galada is a righteous dude, hooked me up with good information, very positive and didn't suggest root canal was the only fix. Got meds to help with pain and infection and got me in to start my work in the same week...all around awesome experience. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from A.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 24, 2017

I am one who gets anxious about the dentists. But they were very careful and always checked on me and my comfort. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from K.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 09, 2017

me an my 2 yr old son just went in there an it was beautiful in there an he loved the train that goes all along the office into all the rooms  that is so cute he loves choo choos an they were excellent with him....i liked my doctor that did my exam but the hygienist seemed not as genuine an kinda nervous....an during my cleaning had a few messups an the machines messed up dropped some of the equipment...an she used the metal scraper tool on my entire mouth for like an hr which I do not like the sound or feeling of that I prefer the electric tool to remove the tarter...my mouth is sore today actually... so not too good of an experience with my cleaning but everybody else was so nice an friendly an awesome! when we made our follow up appt the guy was so nice! offered my son a toy an he also got a electric toothbrush too an shirts! he loves the dentist now lol! good job dental express we will be back :) More

4.0
DAPI
Review from H.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 05, 2017

The owner of dental express helped correct a problem from earlier today More

4.0
DAPI
Review from J.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 12, 2017

Had my new patient appointment earlier this week. Office is easy to find, can get there via the 163 or the 805. There is ample parking space. Friendly front office staff. My dental hygienist and dentist were professional, courteous, detailed, and answered all of my questions. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from J.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 16, 2017

Recently moved to San Diego so i was in the hunt for a new dentist. Dental express had great reviews so I thought I would give them a try even though there are other dental clinics a little closer to home. I had a great experience!  The staff were great and very friendly.  Dr Galada is really laid back yet still professional.  One of those cool dentists that makes you feel like you've known them forever and uses humor to make you feel comfortable. The only reason for the 1 star deduction was the wait time for my cleaning.  My appt was at 10:30am.  I got called in at 10:35 for x-rays.  Was seated at the dental at 10:45 and waited until almost until 11:10 for cleaning to begin.  The hygienist was really nice though and did a through cleaning.  Everything else went about decently after that. Will definitely return and if all goes well next time,  ill likely up the rating to a perfect 5. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from R.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 06, 2016

Fun, friendly and fast. Clean and great ambiance with a train running through the whole office and modern white decor. In and out within an hour. Barely any wait time. Only down this time was that the gentleman doing my cleaning was a bit rougher with the mirror and scraping gums than he needed to be. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from T.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 21, 2016

I went there for the first time and actually had fun. May raise to five stars after my upcoming procedure. The staff is welcoming, personable, and does their best to make you feel comfortable. The lights are a bit bright there, but guess what? They have special shades. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from D.H.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Nov 09, 2016

Great work and a friendly staff that made a stressful day so much easier! More

4.0
DAPI
Review from L.N.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 24, 2016

Clean, with a great staff.🌹 More

4.0
DAPI
Review from K.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 04, 2016

I have to say what a great experience my visit was today.  They use all the new modern technology and the staff from the hygentist to the dentist, Dr Jamie Ferguson were friendly and quite funny.  This place has great energy and I'm going back!!  Thanks everyone!! More

4.0
DAPI
Review from F.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 22, 2016

Awesome ,customer service. They take medical,since going thru litle economic hardship..theu treat you really wrll. Worth the drive. Came after waiting for an hour as er my appointment at western ,which I give not one star. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from B.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 07, 2016

After the issue with my filling coming out, I went back to have it fixed and they were kind to do it without charging me. It was great to get it fixed right away and hopefully it stays in for a long time. So I am happy about it. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from M.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 26, 2015

I had broken my tooth and immediately started looking for a dentist and came across Dental Express because they accepted my insurance. I was so freaked out because I'll admit I hadn't been to the dentist in years,but walking in they immediately greeted me with politeness. The office is very nice and clean. All the front desk lady's were very nice and the dental assistant Cynthia was very nice and made me feel relaxed I got treated by The Dentist himself Dr.Ashmore explained everything very clear and my tooth extraction was painless and my teeth look and feel so much better. Thankyou Dental Express for such a nice a smooth Dental Visit. I'll definetly be back for more work and will recommend friends and family. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from S.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 29, 2015

Came here for the first time for a dental visit after 2 years of not going to the dentist, and overall, was pleased. They do last minute appointments and even walk-ins, I believe. Initially when I was trying to book an appointment, I had some trouble going back and forth via phone with them letting them know that my insurance should cover the whole cleaning (they were trying to charge me 10%, claiming that my insurance only covers 90%, but my whole family has never had to pay out of pocket for just a simple check-up/cleaning). I absolutely hate places that try to charge their customers for every little thing, so I actually was not left with a good impression at first. However, after finally telling them I would look around to find another dentist who can just bill my insurance in full, they took it back and told me they'd make an "exception" & decided to take me and not charge me anything out of pocket. I did not pay anything up front at my visit, but we'll see what the bill looks like when the papers come in the mail. I will update my review accordingly. The place is very clean and new, with a cute train theme, great for kids and families. Plenty of comfy chairs in the waiting room and friendly staff as well. Initially when I got there and checked in, they mistakened me for another customer, which raised a red flag for me because it was not that busy and yet they still couldn't get their customers right! My name is Sharon, not Shannon! At first, I didn't know they had the wrong files, until the dental assistant asked if I wanted to get my fillings done. Confused, I then said, "What fillings? This is my first time coming here?..." However, they were quick to resolve my issue and the actual dental procedure went smoothly. Their equipment was clean and the person taking care of me really seemed to know what she was doing. Best part? NO CAVITIES! I was a bit worried this place would try to tell me I had this and that to fix, and that I would need to come in for another BS procedure, which I would then have to pay out of pocket. A lot of dentists do this and it's a big reason why I hate going to dentists in the first place. So, I was very pleased with my first experience here. I walked out with clean and healthy teeth! At check-out, the receptionist gave me a free t-shirt and a cute little Hello Kitty spinbrush (another reason why I felt this place is very kid/family friendly)... Apparently they like to spoil their first-time customers! If I'm still in the area in 6 months, I'll definitely be coming back! They have a nice system of texts/e-mail reminders of appointments and stuff for people who are busy, and changing/rescheduling/cancelling appointments seem like it would be a breeze with this system in place. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from J.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 09, 2015

This office was very nice.  It was clean, new, and had fun decor.  The people were also very pleasant.  I went in for a routine checkup and cleaning. It was quick, and they didn't try to tell me I needed any unnecessary work. I would definitely recommend this office. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.